Our own factory, plus a partner ecosystem: catalogue sizes for standard parts, your drawing for custom parts.

Send your drawing or spec list →

Engineering Tools · Spring Pin Reference

Spring Pin Size Chart — ISO 8752 / 13337 / 8748 / 8750 / 8751 (GB/T 879.1–879.5), Slotted & Coiled

StandardConstructiond1 range (mm)
GB/T 879.1-2018Slotted1–50
GB/T 879.2-2018Slotted2–50
GB/T 879.3-2018Coiled1.5–20
GB/T 879.4-2018Coiled0.8–20
GB/T 879.5-2018Coiled1.5–8

A spring pin is a cylindrical pin that is pressed into a hole and holds by radial spring force; it locates, joins and resists rotation. This family collects the five parts of ISO 8752 / 13337 / 8748 / 8750 / 8751 (GB/T 879.1–879.5: slotted heavy duty, slotted light duty, coiled heavy duty, coiled standard duty, coiled light duty) into one index: 5 load classes, 92 nominal diameters d1 and 171 cut-length steps lc, with the pre-insertion limit sizes, the slot width a, the wall thickness s and the minimum double shear load. Open a construction group for the full size matrix and length series.

Full PDF

Download the full PDF (0.8–50 mm, all sizes)

Printable chart covering every size in this family — enter your email to get it.

By construction group

Slotted and coiled are two constructions with their own size axes and length series. Pick the construction first, then take the part you need inside the page.

Load-class index (ISO 8752 / 13337 / 8748 / 8750 / 8751, GB/T 879.1–879.5)

One row per part: standard, construction group, load class, number of d1 sizes and their range, number of lc length steps and their range, and the shear-load convention. d2 = slot root diameter (before insertion); a = slot width; s = pin wall thickness. All figures come from Table 1 of the respective part and match the per-part pages cell for cell.

StandardConstructionLoad classd1 sizesd1 range (mm)lc stepslc range (mm)Shear load rows
GB/T 879.1-2018Slottedheavy duty281–50354–200single row (steel and martensitic stainless only; not specified for austenitic stainless)
GB/T 879.2-2018Slottedlight duty242–50354–200single row (steel and martensitic stainless only; not specified for austenitic stainless)
GB/T 879.3-2018Coiledheavy duty141.5–20354–200a / b rows (a = steel and martensitic stainless, b = austenitic stainless)
GB/T 879.4-2018Coiledstandard duty170.8–20354–200a / b rows (a = steel and martensitic stainless, b = austenitic stainless)
GB/T 879.5-2018Coiledlight duty91.5–8314–120a / b rows (a = steel and martensitic stainless, b = austenitic stainless)

Basis & Disclosed Assumptions

Where the numbers come from

  • Every dimension and shear value comes from Table 1 and the lc sub-table below Table 1 of the five parts (GB/T 879.1 slotted heavy duty, 879.2 slotted light duty, 879.3 coiled heavy duty, 879.4 coiled standard duty, 879.5 coiled light duty). This page and the per-part pages share one constant, so every cell can be recalculated.
  • d1 max, d1 min and d2 are all pre-insertion values (the standard's own heading word): the pin is larger than the hole before it is pressed in and holds by elastic recovery, so the limit sizes sit above the nominal value.
  • Shear load is the minimum double shear load in kN. ISO 8752 / GB/T 879.1 and ISO 13337 / GB/T 879.2 give a single row (steel and martensitic stainless) and state in a table note that no double shear load is specified for austenitic stainless spring pins; ISO 8748 / GB/T 879.3, 879.4 and 879.5 give a and b rows (a = steel and martensitic stainless, b = austenitic stainless). Steps left unspecified by the standard are blank in the tables below.
  • The d1 and lc steps are not interchangeable between parts: this index lists each part's own size count and range, and the same nominal diameter d1 carries a different wall thickness s and load capacity in each part.

Scope & limits

  • The nominal hole diameter is the nominal pin diameter d1 with tolerance zone H12 (ISO 286-2 / GB/T 1800.2). The one exception is ISO 8750 / GB/T 879.4: H12 for d1 ≥ 1.5 mm and H10 for d1 ≤ 1.2 mm.
  • Length limits are banded: ±0.25 mm for lc ≤ 10 mm, ±0.5 mm for 12–50 mm and ±0.75 mm for 55–200 mm; above 200 mm nominal length the series steps by 20 mm.
  • The standard allows the pin to be fitted in the smallest permitted hole but requires that the slot must not close completely. Size the hole and fit against the actual duty; this chart only reports the nominal and limit sizes fixed by the standard.
  • No weight or material-strength data here: the spring pin parts do not tabulate mass, and this site offers no weight calculator for this family.

Cite this chart

YAXIIO. Spring Pin Size Chart — ISO 8752 / 13337 / 8748 / 8750 / 8751 (GB/T 879.1–879.5), Slotted & Coiled. https://www.yaxiio.com/en/tools/spring-pin-chart (accessed 2026-10-29).

Free to cite and embed — attribution required: “YAXIIO” + a link to this page.

FAQ

Slotted or coiled — how do I choose?

By load and by how the joint is assembled, not by hole size: both constructions are radial spring pins and both use a H12 hole at the nominal diameter d1, so the difference is load capacity. Take d1 = 8 mm, the largest diameter all five parts cover: the minimum double shear load for steel and martensitic stainless is 42.76 kN for ISO 8752 / GB/T 879.1 slotted heavy duty, 24 kN for ISO 13337 / GB/T 879.2 slotted light duty, 53 kN for ISO 8748 / GB/T 879.3 coiled heavy duty, 39 kN for ISO 8750 / GB/T 879.4 coiled standard duty and 23 kN for ISO 8751 / GB/T 879.5 coiled light duty. There is no simple rule that coiled always beats slotted — compare the shear values part by part at the same d1.

What hole size should I use?

Nominal diameter equals d1, with tolerance zone H12 (ISO 286-2 / GB/T 1800.2). The one exception is ISO 8750 / GB/T 879.4 coiled standard duty: H12 for d1 ≥ 1.5 mm and H10 for d1 ≤ 1.2 mm — at the smallest diameters the pin body is finer, so a tighter zone keeps the holding force. The standard also requires that the slot must not close completely when the pin is fitted in the smallest permitted hole.

Why does austenitic stainless get its own shear row?

Because the material changes the capacity. ISO 8748 / GB/T 879.3, 879.4 and 879.5 split the shear load into an a row (steel and martensitic stainless) and a b row (austenitic stainless); the b values are lower than the a values and the standard leaves the larger diameters unspecified, which is why those cells are blank here. ISO 8752 / GB/T 879.1 and ISO 13337 / GB/T 879.2 carry a single row (steel and martensitic stainless) and state in a table note that no double shear load is specified for austenitic stainless spring pins — for those two parts an austenitic pin has no standard shear figure to compare against.

How do heavy duty, standard duty and light duty differ?

In the wall thickness s, that is, in how much material the pin body carries at the same nominal diameter d1: a thicker wall raises the minimum double shear load and the radial force once the pin is pressed in. The load class is therefore a property of the part, and shear values at the same d1 must not be mixed across parts. Each part page lists its own wall thickness and shear load for direct comparison.

What does lc mean?

lc is the standard nominal cut length of the pin, in mm. Each of the five parts carries its own lc series; across the family there are 171 steps from 4 mm to 200 mm (ISO 8751 / GB/T 879.5 stops at 120 mm). The length limits are banded: ±0.25 mm up to 10 mm, ±0.5 mm for 12–50 mm and ±0.75 mm for 55–200 mm; above 200 mm nominal length the series steps by 20 mm.

The other family in this group: cotter pins

Cotter pins and spring pins both retain inside a hole, but assembly, reusability and load data differ. A cotter pin is threaded through the hole and its legs are opened behind it, and it is normally not reused; a spring pin locks by radial spring force, can be removed and refitted many times, and carries a shear load quoted by its own standard. Use a cotter pin for shaft-end retention where the opened legs can be seen; use a spring pin for location duties, frequent disassembly or alternating lateral force.

Open the cotter pin size chart →

Related References

Disclaimer: this chart provides engineering reference data for selection and quotation only; it is not a design basis or an acceptance standard.